Beauty Basics: Mascaras

Hey fishies,

Welcome to another Beauty Basics!  I want to apologize to you all because as I was scrolling through my last beauty basics (it was on concealers) I realized that it was not content I was happy with. I wanted to push some material out for you guys, and honestly that post is such a mess. It’s too crowded with product and not concise. I promise to re-do a post on concealers – possibly breaking it into high end and low end. I only want to write the best content for you.

With that being said, welcome to my rendition of mascara basics.

must have mascara on when I wear make up – the contingent factor is concealer. Why? Concealer makes your eyes look smaller, and moreover, takes dimension and depth away from the eye (much like foundation does on the face before powder and bronzer etc). So for me, the key is to bring life and dimension back to my eyes by defining my lashes with mascara.

One other note is I know not everyone likes putting mascara on the bottom lashes, but for those of you willing to, it really opens up the eyes and makes them appear larger.

And the last thing is, while people will swear by their high end mascaras, I personally have yet to find a good enough reason to spend full price on a high end mascara. Why? Mascaras have the shortest shelf life of all makeup, and in my opinion, are the lowest yield product for your face. Hence, most of the mascaras I’m discussing today are drugstore. Let’s get started!

Eyelash Serum:

Screen Shot 2016-10-02 at 12.31.06 PM.png

While this particular product isn’t mascara, it is a staple in my beauty routine – a lash serum. I was born with long lashes, but I am greedy and have always wanted more, so I use a lash serum everyday to help that along. In Canada the only serum safe for resale is RapidLash (at Costco.ca you can get a 2pack for $50CAD), otherwise it’s $50-$60 for a single at London Drugs. This stuff works. If your lashes need a little help, I recommend using one (but please make sure its safe!). Mine has pretty much dried out, so I need a new one.

For Lengthening:

L’Oreal Telescopic Carbon Black

wp-1475434157830.jpg

My current favourite, holy grail, re-purchase mascara. This lengthens your mascara like no other from the drugstore – I find this the most useful for days when I want my lashes to really stand out, but I don’t want to look overly dramatic. The formula is great and easy to wash off. It doesn’t flake or smudge and the super skinny applicator makes it amazing for bottom lash application.

Maybelline Great Lash

Screen Shot 2016-10-02 at 12.17.47 PM.png

I know this is an OG mascara for a lot of you – the Great Lash, pink tube and green cap. I personally used this a ton because it gives life to your lashes without it looking like you have on coats and coats of product. I slowly stopped using GL mainly because it was hard to wash off, and I wanted a little more oomf to my lashes. However, if you’re beginning or not totally sure, GL is an awesome starter mascara and super easy on the budget ($5CAD!).

For Volumizing:

Maybelline Lash Sensational Full Fan Effect Luscious

wp-1475434158231.jpg

I personally really like this mascara. It’s a synthetic plastic wand, and it is a sister to the Lash Sensational. I personally do not like the original LS; I found it such a pain to wash off, and that it was kind of meh for my lashes. The Luscious version is a lot better – I find that the formula is different – a lot more liquidy and it coats my lashes so much better.

Too Faced Better than Sex

Screen Shot 2016-10-02 at 12.18.57 PM.png

The wand on this mascara is ginormous. It’s super plush and I love that its fibre bristles and not plastic. I feel like that’s where the power lies when really super sizing your lashes. I could sweep this stuff once or twice and it would instantly volumize and lengthen my lashes. If you want drama, this is the mascara. This is the only high end mascara on my list – I have been riding on my deluxe samples for a while, but alas, I’ve run out. While I want to go out and purchase, I haven’t been able to bring myself to shell out the $25+  …I may pick up a tube during the VIB Rouge sale though.

CoverGirl Supersizer Fibres

wp-1475434158099.jpg

This mascara has the weirdest wand I have ever seen, but man, does it do an amazing job! I don’t know how much the ‘fibres’ play into it, but this mascara is a trooper. It doesn’t flake, smudge or budge and goes a full 10 hours. The wand is so odd but coats the lashes so well, volumizing and lengthening (but mostly volumizing, in my opinion). Definitely a must!

Essence Forbidden Volume:

wp-1475434155868.jpg

There are scant a few mascara that are worth the couple dollars from Essence – one of them being a new release that I hauled recently, and it’s the Forbidden Volume in the red tube. Really great at volumizing and keeping the lashes from going clumpy.

Essence I love Extreme Volume Mascara 

screen-shot-2016-10-02-at-6-03-29-pm

This is the other, OG mascaras from Essence. I remember buying this for $2 CAD years ago and it getting the job done, without flaking or being irritating on my eyes. I think it’s a good starter mascara.

For Both:

L’Oreal Voluminous Carbon Black & Original

Screen Shot 2016-10-02 at 12.20.05 PM.png

An oldie, but a goodie. The L’Oreal Voluminous was my ride or die mascara in high school, and back then a curved brush was considered light years ahead in terms of wand technology. I know it’s “voluminous” but this mascara really packs a punch. It lengthens while thickening up the lashes, without appearing too clumpy.

CoverGirl Plumpify Blast Pro

wp-1475434155840.jpg

This is one of the fattest and largest wands I have ever used for a drugstore mascara. This stuff indeed does plumpify, but at the same time, doesn’t clump your lashes. Great for volumizing and lengthening, and if you like synthetic wands, this is a great one. This is my second tube!

Some Mascara Duds:

These are mascaras that didn’t work for me personally.

Most of the mascaras from essence (except the ones I mentioned above). I know that this is a brand I love, but with every brand, there are major hits and misses. For essence, it’s their mascaras. The formulation is of poor quality – I find that their mascaras are either too runny, or too clumpy, flake during the day, and don’t have much impact on defining my lashes. In particular, I really do not like the ‘Lash Princess’ line of mascara from essence.

screen-shot-2016-10-02-at-6-00-38-pm

L’Oreal Voluminous Collagen

Screen Shot 2016-10-02 at 12.21.19 PM.png

This is a terrible product. I know that seems harsh, but I remember having such high hopes for this mascara. I love their Voluminous line, and so when this first came out, it touted to strengthen your lashes. What really happened was this stuff clung to my lashes, and made it so difficult to get off I lost lash hairs in the process. It didn’t do much for to intensify or lengthen, and was just really bad.

L’Oreal Voluminous Million Lashes – Excess

Screen Shot 2016-10-02 at 5.50.00 PM.png

This was another Voluminous let down for me – the brush applicator is too plastic-y and, the spikes on it don’t grab onto lashes properly. The formula is also very flaky! Just steer clear of this one.

 

 

Okay guys, I hope you liked this Beauty Basics! Let me know in the comments what some of your mascara faves and hates are!

 

Until next time,

 

bf♥

PS- don’t forget to follow me on Instagram, Twitter & Bloglovin

3 thoughts on “Beauty Basics: Mascaras

Leave a Reply

