Foundation Friday – Estee Lauder Double Wear Stay in Place Foundation

Are you ready for another Foundation Friday?! 

You know I love Fridays for this very reason – this week we’re going to talk all about Estee Lauder’s infamous and much beloved Double Wear Stay in Place foundation.

I picked mine up a while ago at a CCO, which surprisingly is almost always available when I go into one. It’s about $15 less at the CCO, so try to grab it from here if you can and save yourself some money!

wp-1473643835802.jpg

I picked up this shade when I was way tan, so it’s a bit dark – I have the shade Honey Bronze:

This foundation is famous for it’s insane coverage – and I can’t say I disagree. It’s probably one of the most full coverage foundations I own and so I don’t wear it on a daily basis. My sister likes to go full coverage everyday and so this is her go-to foundation. I reserve this for nights out when I need my foundation to last all day and look flawless. I do find I need to set this with powder but it naturally has a really great satin finish.  I don’t find that it creases in my laugh lines like some full coverage foundations can; it is also buildable and easy to layer.

The lasting power on this foundation is amazing – I can go a full 10 hours and this stuff does not budge. Concealer, bronzer, blush etc work and look great on top of this formulation.

When it comes to application, I personally like using a beauty sponge to apply since this does apply a bit streaky and heavy for me when using a brush. If you must use a brush, try using a flat top kabuki that’s dense.

Because I don’t wear full coverage normally, I can’t vouch for this foundation with daily use. However, it is not so heavy your skin can’t breathe – be mindful though that it looks like you’re wearing foundation.

The only gripe I have with this foundation is packaging related. Now, this is not a cheap foundation, so it irks me that EL did not think to put a pump on their bottle. I appreciate that it’s a gold lid and the bottle is made of glass, but really? In today’s makeup game, drugstore acrylic packaging has pumps on it – so really, high end companies really don’t have an excuse for such unhygienic and messy packaging. I know one hack that some people use is putting a MAC pump on this bottle and using it that way.

This retails at Sephora for $46 CAD, but like I said, if you have a CCO nearby, you should be able to grab it for anywhere from $30-$35.

Overall: This is an amazing foundation, that’s long wearing and full coverage. If you have yet to invest in a full coverage foundation, I would say this is worth the money, and hype.

 

Okay guys, I hope you liked this Foundation Friday! Have a lovely weekend🙂

Until next time,

 

bf♥

PS- don’t forget to follow me on Instagram, Twitter & Bloglovin

3 thoughts on “Foundation Friday – Estee Lauder Double Wear Stay in Place Foundation

Leave a Reply

