Foundation Friday – L’Oreal Infallible Pro-Matte & Pro-Glow Foundations

Hello and happy Friday!

It’s my favourite time of the week, and you all know the drill – Foundation Friday!

This week is a double-whammy for all of you, since the rest of my posts have been majorly lacking. I recently bought the L’Oreal Pro-Glow foundation to insane hype (I went to 3 drugstores to find it, and randomly saw it in a London Drugs when I went to buy some nail polish remover, lol).

wp-1473387042833.jpg

Since the Pro Glow is considered the ‘sister’ foundation to the Pro-Matte, I thought why not review them together?

So without further ado, let’s jump to it!

L’Oreal Infallible Pro-Matte:

I purchased this foundation last year, and I freakin’ love it. I got it on sale (because drugstore always goes on sale!) for about $7 CAD and I purchased a back up for when I run out. I religiously used it in the winter once I figured out how to use it. Now what I mean by that is, if you have combo or dry skin, you would think to run away from this foundation. Au contraire, my friends. After fiddling with different combinations, I figured out that using a slippery, siliconey primer was the key to wearing this stuff comfortable as a dry-skin gal. My skin has changed and is now oilier, but only in the nose region. I love this for when I have long ass days and I need my makeup to stay forever. I don’t need to set it with a powder, which is nice since I can skip a step, and bronzers/blushes/highlight work great on top of it. If you tried this foundation but it was too clingy, patchy, or drying, pleeease re-try with my method; it is such a staple in my foundation drawer! If you’re an oily gal, this is a friggin life saver!! It controls my patch of oils around the nose area wonderfully and I don’t have nearly as much oil around there when I blot around the 5 hr mark.

Application tip – use a beauty blender to blend, brushes are way too streaky and will give you an awful finish. It’s a really nice consistency – not too thick and not too runny. As for shade range, it’s not the greater – I wear 108 Caramel and its the second to last deepest shade. I am obviously not the darkest girl around.

L’Oreal Infallible Pro-Glow:

Ah, the much hyped Pro Glow. In a nut shell, I think this foundation is really beautiful, if you are into having a glowing, radiant complexion. And by glowing, I really mean, glowing. You will be beaming, and I can understand that not everybody loves that. As someone with combination skin, I can’t say I was happy about putting this stuff around my nose – but on the flip side, i thought it gave me such a healthy finish to the rest of my face. This stuff is very ‘wet’ and must be set with a powder. I don’t think its as long-lasting as its Pro-Matte counterpart, and I found that it started to patch a wee bit around the jaw line after 6 hours. Again, I did a lot of primer fiddling with this, and I find that my L’Oreal Revitalift Miracle Blur primer or Rimmel’s Stay Matte primer work best with this foundation. Why a mattifying primer? Because I don’t dig looking like a greasy hot dog at the end of the day. You can tell by the swatch photo just how ‘glowy’ this stuff is. It’s very runny and I highly recommend using a brush for application – a sponge will soak it up like water.

One gripe that I guess I am partial to is a) the shade range and b) the undertone. The shade range is atrocious and there was a lot of fall out because of it (just google it). I am in shade 210…it’s the third darkest shade. I am not that dark people! I wish L’Oreal would expand their shade ranges ..they are leaving out half of the colour spectrum. What a shame. As for undertone, I was fine with Pro Matte, as it ran yellow (since I have yellow undertones) but every shade in the Pro Glow runs pink. So just beware of that when picking a shade.

Because this is a newer foundation, I snagged it for $15USD (it was technically ‘on sale’). Bronzers and other face products work well with this foundation.

A note on Mixing:

So, being the foundation junkie that I am, I like to mix foundations, and I like to mix especially when I know I can get the desired finish. For example I love mixing my Maybelline Fit Me Dewy+Smooth with my Fit Me Matte+Poreless – it gives me an amazing satin finish. I tried that with these 2 foundations.

Don’t do it guys. It’s awful.

Why? After attempting mixing a couple times, I’ve come to the conclusion that the Pro-Matte formulation is not meant to be tampered with. What I mean is, once I mix something into the Pro Matte, it gets very odd in consistency and applies just god awful to the face. The runniness of the Pro Glow does not off-set the mattifying power of the Pro Matte, and it was just a patchy nightmare.

 

Overall: Get these foundations! They are both wonderful and do exactly what they state – mattify or glow. Depending on what mood you’re in, these foundations are worth the money and I think over-perform for a drugstore brand. Just don’t mix them;)

 

Okay guys, I hope you liked this Foundation Friday! Have a lovely weekend 🙂

Until next time,

 

bf♥

PS- don’t forget to follow me on Instagram, Twitter & Bloglovin

 

 

7 thoughts on “Foundation Friday – L’Oreal Infallible Pro-Matte & Pro-Glow Foundations

Leave a Reply

