REVIEW: Charlotte Tilbury Filmstar Bronze and Glow

Hey fishies!

I hope your Thursday has been treating you well! I haven’t done a solid review in a while, so I thought I would give you my thoughts on this baby right here..

The Charlotte Tilbury Filmstar Bronze and Glow!

I snagged this when Nouveau Cheap mentioned CT was having a rare sale on their website…40% off!! So normally, this retails for a whopping $80CAD … but I ended up snagging it for less than $55CAD. I purchased mine in Medium Dark as I noticed that those who used the Light shade were quite fair, and I was afraid the “sculpt” shade wouldn’t show up on my skin:

wp-1472783554211.jpg

As you can see, this product is a duo, with a ‘sculpting’ or contouring shade and a ‘glow’ or highlighting shade. You get 0.16 grams of product, and it comes in a very beautiful rose gold metal case, with a sleek mirror inside. The shades themselves are embossed and designed, which is a nice touch.

Let’s start with the “Sculpt” shade:

wp-1472783554214.jpg

As you can see, this is a very cool, ashy brown. It is meant to contour and sharpen the features on your face. What’s odd about it is it has flecks of microglitter. Why that is, I couldn’t tell you, since sculpting and contouring is meant to be matte. Nobody has natural glitters sitting in the hollows of their cheeks. I think what CT was trying to do was make it a contour/bronzer hybrid. Frankly I don’t mind the glitter – it actually reminds me of my NARS Tiare Laguna bronzer, which I like to lightly contour with too. But the Tiare bronzer is marketed as just that – a bronzer, not a sculptor. Just as an FYI, there are glitters in the contour!

It goes on super smooth and does a really nice job at warming up my face and sculpting out my cheeks. A little product goes a long way! Go easy when you start with it, and build it up as you go.

As for the “Glow”/Highlight side:

wp-1472783727026.jpg

Now, my first and only grip with this – why is it so orange? Those who bought the lighter version of this duo got a beautiful champagne coloured highlight. I understand that they are trying to cater to darker skintones by putting in an “orange” highlight, but let’s be honest: CT did not put a dark enough contour shade to match the skintone that this highlighter is catered to. The contour shade WOULD NOT show up on someone who is more than 4 shades deeper than me. When I put this highlighter on, it shows up pink/salmon in tone. While I don’t mind (I am adventurous with highlight) I can see a lot of medium/tan girls not liking or using it. Just keep that in mind. The other issue with this highlight is its subtle. If you like to shine like a beacon, this is not the highlighter for you.  That being said, it applies easy, and like the sculpt shade, is richly pigmented.

wp-1472783727022.jpg

Both the sculpt and glow shades last all day on my face, and work well with liquid and mineral foundation. I personally like to use a paddle brush for applying the contour shade and a pointed angle highlighting brush to apply the glow shade.

 

Overall: To be perfectly honest, I love it, but not enough to pay $80.

What I mean to say is, on sale with 40% off, I do really love this duo, but for regular price, if you are a coloured girl like me, save your money. For my fair skinned ladies who can use the other shade of Filmstar, I can’t comment because you all honestly got a better colour highlighter. The sculpt shade is really what made this not a gigantic disappointment, but I paid $76 CAD for my NARS Tiare LE Laguna bronzer, that also came with a Mini Ita Brush… I could have lived without this. That being said, if you are a shade or two darker than me, this might be the perfect little duo for you.

 

I hope you enjoyed this review!! Until next time 😉

 

bf♥

 

PS- don’t forget to follow me on Instagram, Twitter & Bloglovin

One thought on “REVIEW: Charlotte Tilbury Filmstar Bronze and Glow

  1. Pingback: Mini-Review: MAKEUP FOREVER Pro Sculpting Duo | bluefish beauty

Leave a Reply

