The Rundown: Brow Pencils

Hey fishies!

So, a couple days back I posted a Rundown on Eyebrow Gels.. I think now that we are all well versed on keeping our eyebrows in place, let’s move on to filling them in – with brow pencils.

I personally love brow pencils. They are a no-muss, no-fuss product and let you fill in your brows in a pinch. It’s what I reach for when I’m in a hurry and just don’t have the 15 minutes to dedicate to my eyebrows. As you can probably tell or have experienced yourself, powders and pomades are not always the most convenient, quick or natural option. In my quest to have the fleekiest brows,  I have tried many, many brow pencils, both drugstore and high-end.

All of the pencils I’m discussing today are a standard twist/retract packaging, with product on one end, and a spoolie on the other.

So, without further ado, here are some options when it comes to the brow pencil family:

Anastasia Beverly Hills MicroBrow Pencil – Ebony

brow-wiz-blonde_1

I know guys. You’re probably thinking – no surprise, you only listed the most popular brow pencil ever. Well, it’s the most popular for a reason guys. This was the first brow pencil I ever purchased and honestly, it’s a great product. I think a couple years ago this was the bomb – mostly because it had no competition. But seeing as how popular brows are nowadays, there are plenty-a-dupe available (I’ll get into that below). It isn’t cheap at $21 USD, and the reason why you’re seeing site photography is because honestly, after I ran out of my Brow Wiz in Ebony, I never repurchased (It was my second brow wiz). There are just too many other alternatives out there. If this is your holy grail, then by all means, work it girl. It is a great pencil.

NYX MicroBrow Pencil – Black

So, here we have the shameless NYX dupe for the ABH Brow Wiz. While the micro thin brow product is pretty spot on and the packaging is near identical save for colours…the only different I noticed was that the tip is not tapered the way it is in the ABH pencil. Formulation-wise, its waxy and pulls slightly more than the ABH pencil. I think in terms of pigmentation, it is definitely a wonderful dupe. The shades aren’t quite the same… in fact NYX has a lot of odd darker brow shades that to me (I am not a makeup artist) look the same? Regardless, this pencil is half the price of the ABH Brow Wiz. I frankly will go to this for my micro-brow needs.

Anastasia Beverly Hills Brow Definer – Ebony

Back to ABH. I was intrigued when this pencil came out, mainly because I haven’t seen many brow ‘swords’ on the market and the shape was really interesting. I wasn’t willing to pay the $30CAD, even if it more than double the product of the ABH Brow Wiz. I picked it up at IMATS since they were on discount (about 25% off?). I really like this.. I know I said I wouldn’t repurchase my Brow Wiz, but because this is a sword more than a micro pencil, it’s so fast and convenient. I can easily fill in any spaces in my eyebrow and define them nicely. The spoolie lets me brush them through and voila I’m done ! (Not before eyebrow gel though πŸ˜‰ ) Bottom line, if you’re going to spend your money on ABH, get this pencil over the Wiz.

e.l.f. Instant Life Brow Pencil – Deep Brown

So from luxury to affordable – we have the e.l.f Instant Lift Brow pencil. This pencil is $3USD and very budget friendly. The formula on this pencil is much softer – in fact, I feel like there’s no wax in this product. You can see the smudging on the pencil itself because its so soft. There is very good pigmentation and it glides on smoothly. You can easily brush through your brows with the spoolie after application. One con, because it isn’t waxy, you must set this! Otherwise it’s going to take a trip on your face and might end up in your temples or eyelids. Another gripe I have is that it is quite thick compared to other pencils..there is nothing micro about this. If you have thin brows, you might run into some trouble when filling them in. Overall, if you’re new to brow pencils, or just have a couple gaps to fill, this pencil won’t break the bank.

L’Oreal Brow Stylist Definer  – Dark Brunette

This is my current everyday eyebrow pencil. Again, a nice dupe for ABH Brow Wiz. What I like about this pencil vs. the NYX version, is that it is much less waxy than those formulas, or even the ABH. The pencil is quite soft but not as soft as the e.l.f. pencil. The micro tip makes it easy to apply and the soft formulation lets you brush through your brows nicely. Moreover its cheaper than NYX; I believe during a drugstore sale I got mine for less than $8CAD. If you prefer non-waxy formulas, this is a great micro pencil!

Miniso ‘Blowlash’ EX24 Brow Pencil – Dark Brown

Okay, so this brow sword I picked up while backpacking through Malaysia. We were at one of the malls in Kuala Lumpur, and walked right into a giant Miniso (which is an awesome Muji-type store). Anyway, they had cosmetics, and I am always willing to spend some money on new product! This was about 8 Malaysian Ringgits (~$2CAD). It is a soft, non-waxy formula, closer to elf’s pencil. It was in a ‘sword’ format, which was why I wanted to try it. It’s not bad, and it’s not great – it’s okay. I’m mainly mentioning because it was decently priced, and I am not sure which readers are near a Miniso! (There aren’t any in Canada).

DAISO Brow Pencil – Black

Ugh. This. Pencil. Is. Terrible. Thankfully it was only $2CAD, but holy cow, steer clear of this guys. I thought I might try to find a cheap, waxy brow pencil, but by no means is this it. It’s super hard, with little to no pigmentation. I am just mentioning it here because I don’t want any of you to waste your money on this! This was also a let down since I really liked the DAISO clear brow gel. Oh well.

 

Okay guys! That was level 2 of the Brow Rundown… let me know what your favourite brow pencils are in the comments and if any showed up in this list πŸ™‚

 

Until next time,

xo,

bf β™₯

 

PS- don’t forget to follow me on Instagram, Twitter & Bloglovin

3 thoughts on “The Rundown: Brow Pencils

  1. Pingback: The Rundown: Brow Powders, Waxes & Pomades | bluefish beauty

Leave a Reply

