My Favourite Affordable Makeup Brushes for the Face ♥

Hey fishies!

I was wondering what I should do my latest post on, and I started staring off into the distance until I noticed all my beautiful brushes on my vanity.

So. Why not make a favourite face brushes post?

Since the majority of my brushes are affordable I figured I would start here. So lets begin!

Foundation:

Okay, these 2 aren’t really brushes. They’re sponges. But they apply foundation so nicely and they are both under $10 CAD, so naturally, I had to include them:

Real Techniques Your Base/Flawless Miracle Complexion Sponge ($9.99 CAD) & London Premiere Precision Makeup Sponge ($8.99 CAD)

Left: Real Techniques Your Base/Flawless Miracle Complexion Sponge, Right: London Premiere Precision Makeup Sponge

Both of these sponges have great application; they both expand to a nice size (not too big, not too small), wash easily, and are under ten bucks! They work great at applying foundation on their larger sides and concealer blends flawlessly because of their pointed tips.

Morphe Brushes Gunmetal G6 Flat Buffer Brush ($13.99 USD)

Screen Shot 2016-08-08 at 9.58.08 PM

 

Okay I know, I know – Morphe Brushes can stir up a lot of feelings for people, and they’re not all good. However, it took me a long time to be sold on all the Morphe hype, and to be honest I am still not completely sold. I will say, though, there are some clutch brushes in their collection. The G6 from the Gunmetal line is one of them. It’s a smaller, round, flat top kabuki that is dense enough to pack on foundation flawlessly while giving you precision application. It’s not streaky, doesn’t shed, and is $13.99 USD (but there’s always sales, Hautelook, and affiliate codes for more bargain!).

 

 I. Love. ELF.

So when they release new brushes, you know I’m on it. I absolutely love their Ultimate Blending Brush. It applies foundation flawlessly, is made from super soft synthetic Taklon bristles, and for six bucks, is built to last. It doesn’t shed and is built quite sturdy which is surprising given its affordable price tag.

Powder:

Royal & Langnickel MODA BDM-100 Powder Brush ($10USD)

Screen Shot 2016-08-08 at 10.13.02 PM

I first saw this brush at IMATS Vancouver and after feeling it hands on I had to purchase it. I am so glad I did! This is one of the largest, fluffiest and most pretty looking powder brushes I own. The MODA line has a patented Silk Touch coating to ensure longevity of the bristles and the handles are a cool acrylic coating. It distributes loose powder really well but can also be used for pressed powder giving a nice light finish to the face. All in all, a really great brush.

Jessup Large Powder Brush (~$14USD, $17CAD)

IMG_20160808_221956.jpg

For those of you who don’t know, Jessup Brushes are supposedly spot on dupes for many brushes in the Sigma line. I don’t personally own any Sigma brushes, but I can vouch for these brushes. I say “brushes” because I bought a set of 15 off of eBay; this seller is a legit Jessup reseller since there are many duds online. I like this brush a little more than the Royal & Langnickel one, mostly because its packed a little denser and so its really great for setting a pressed powder on the face. I love essentially every other brush in this 15 pc set, and for thirteen bucks, you can’t go wrong!

Bronzer & Blush:

Real Techniques Multi-task Brush ($18USD, comes in a set of 3)

Screen Shot 2016-08-08 at 10.31.34 PM

I friggin’ love this brush for bronzer! Its nice and fluffy and does such an amazing job at warming up the face. Because it is so fluffy, you don’t deposit globs of product on your face and can diffuse your bronzer nicely. You also don’t get heaps of product stuck in the bristles since they are synthetic. RT brushes are amazing and so soft – I absolutely love them.

Again, another winner from Real Techniques. Some people don’t like this brush because it’s size – it is quite large for a blush brush – but I personally love tulip shaped brushes for applying blush because they apply product evenly and allow control for placement of blush. Anything that keeps me looking great and not like a clown is a winner! Like every other RT brush, the bristles are synthetic, soft and easy to clean.

Contour & Highlight:

Crown Brush SS017 Deluxe Soft Fan (10EUR)

Screen Shot 2016-08-08 at 10.55.38 PM

I also bought this brush at IMATS and it’s a really great standard highlighting brush. I paid $5CAD for it and while I can’t see it anywhere on the Crown Brush site anymore, there’s a myriad of fan brush derivatives willing to take its place. The soft syntho brushes deposit product perfectly on the high points of the face, while remaining sturdy enough for precision.

Screen Shot 2016-08-08 at 10.59.59 PM

For those of you who like to pack on the highlighter, or when a particular highlight just isn’t applying well with a fan, this is the brush to go to. The small and pointed head, alongside soft Taklon bristles allow for precision along the cheekbones letting you pack on that highlight. GLOW UP!

So crew, what do you all think? Is there a holy grail brush I missed? Let me know your thoughts! Until next time 😉

xo,

bf ♥

One thought on “My Favourite Affordable Makeup Brushes for the Face ♥

  1. Pingback: My Favourite Affordable Eye Brushes – bluefishbeauty

Leave a Reply

